The Mile High Club ….


Oh!  Shame on you … get your mind out of the gutter …

I’m sitting on a plane for the first time since losing 81.5 pounds.  And for the first … time since I gained weight years ago … flying was not a completely terrifying experience for me.  I didn’t worry if the seat belt would fit or that I would have to ask for the “FAT PERSON” extender belt.  I have actually NEVER used one of those; I just let the belt cut my circulation off.  I know, I know, not very bright, but I couldn’t emotionally process the idea of having to get the extender belt.  I hated using the onboard restroom.  Those things are barley big enough for a toddler.  I’m just saying … when ya got a butt ‘n gut as big as Texas, you really don’t like those kind of tight spaces.  On this flight, I knew I would not have to worry about sitting next to a stranger.  Sitting next to a strangers on a plane is something I don’t like because, in the past, I would have to sit so stiff.  Why, you ask?  So I would not touch them — I’m kind of weird about touching people. I know, I know, I should get over myself, but I know I won’t.  I don’t like snuggling with strange folks,
‘Cuz that’s just how I roll.

On one particularly horrible flight that Mike and I were forced to sit apart, I had to sit next to a very stylish blonde woman who was of course perfectly skinny!   She leaned over on her husband as if I had a decease; I forgave her this because I didn’t want to touch her either.  On a positive note, it did make more room for me–yeah!  I’m sitting there leaning out into the aisle, talking to Mike; feeling miserable and while sitting there–horror of horrors–the arm rest began to rise up!  OMG! Devastatingly embarrassing.  Just what I wanted, to sit next to a beautiful/skinny woman and have my fat A** cause the arm to rise, quick as lightening I rested my arm on the “arm rest” and held that sucker down the whole flight!  My body was bursting at the seams of the seat … sadly, I probably should have purchased an additional seat.

Today, I have made a trip to the onboard restroom, twice even, and it is still tight but I didn’t feel like my rear wiped the walls as I moved about the space.  It is hard to call turning in circles moving, but before it was extremely traumatic, today, just unpleasant. I can put the tray table down,  Fun, Fun, Fun!  It doesn’t have to remain in the upright position for the entire flight, and I am able to use my laptop to type my post–very exciting.  I don’t need a seat extender, I have extra seat belt hanging out–totally exciting–I almost feel super skinny because of that!  hahah!  I can even cross my legs, when I don’t have the tray table down of course, but having the tray table down is a novelty that I must savor to the fullest.  Can you hear me giggle like a little girl when I say this?  ‘Cuz I am.  🙂

The plane is horribly stuffy and hot, which is odd, because it was cool before we took off.  Thank God that I went and got my support hose, even though they are making the trip hotter; I would be sick when I arrived without them.  Poor Mikey, he has a lady seated in front of him that wants to lay down and is beating the fire out of his knees.  I have to say that I am still having a pleasant flight because I can sit with my tray table down and type my blog.  Hehehe!

Well, I guess this is enough for today.  Oh, but before I go, did I mention that I can sit with my tray table down, and that my seat belt has extra room?? Hehe … well … I just wanted to be sure that you got the full impact of my exciting situation.

Blessings …..S

14 thoughts on “The Mile High Club ….

  1. I can totally relate to this! I sit all stiff on a plane and don’t want to touch anyone or be in anyone’s space. Ugh. So tiring. The seatbelt thing is what finally drove me to get moving and lose some weight.

  2. Bathrooms in airplanes always make me gag. Once after a long flight, I brushed my teeth prior to landing and I almost hurled due to the smell. And you’re right the bathrooms are a tight fit.

    On another note, congratulations on your weight loss!

  3. Those airplane bathrooms are the worst! Talk about claustrophobia rampant even for the smallest person! I am trying to lose weight myself. The other night I came to a horrifying conclusion. If my house catches fire I can’t fit out my window. That’s a little scary!

    • They are Marcia …. they are just aweful! Oh girl …. that would be scary if you couldn’t fit out the window. Keep me posted on how your weight loss project goes. Want to be there to cheer you on no matter if it is an up or a down time. We can keep each other motiveated, cuz there will be bumps in the road. 🙂

  4. Hurray for YOU!

    How about my trip to Canada where I had to crawl out from a locked rest room stall door! So glad I had lost 20 lbs.

    Would have held up the whole bus…It would not budge…..they said they had trouble with that door before!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • It was still uncomfortable flying, but I think anything outside of first class is uncomfortable. Thank Testy! I appreciate you taking time to stop by and visit me while you are in transition. 🙂 I hope your move home goes well … I will be hopping over to check out how things are going for you.

  5. People are so shallow at times. I don’t like flying because I value my personal space. But those who think they are better than me simply erk me.

  6. There are so many areas of life that having a significant amount of extra weight makes uncomfortable, embarrassing and/or excruiciating. Airplanes seats and bathrooms are miniscule for everyone, and it is a special hell for the overweight. I’m happy for you that while traveling you could enjoy the benefits of having lost all that weight, and that your plane trip included simple joys such as being able to lower the tray without any obstacles in the way. 😉

  7. And more room for your caboose in the seat, I’m sure. That’s one of the things I really love about being thinner… more room on the dadblasted plane! Because you know me, I’m not going to give up my travel! 🙂

    • Way more room Beth. Still I have so far to go yet. It was beyond nice not squishing out of the seats. I am with you girl … I have to do the travel thing. Fat, skinny, or somewhere in between I am gonna GO! 🙂

Leave a Reply

