Workin’ out, back pain, and hooker heels


Can I see clearly? I'm not sure . . .

Here’s the deal.

I am kinda feelin’ pissy. Sorry for the crude language, but there is just no great way to describe how I am feeling right now.  I am beyond agitated, angry or anything other more genteel words would express.  I don’t like limitations.  I know as we grow older there are limitations that we have to accept.  I have accepted some, but being bedridden is just not one I can deal with just yet!  Just sayin’.  I am just not willing to go down without a fight.

My major malfunction at the moment?  Well, I don’t even know what is causing my intense pain today.  It is beautiful outside.  The weather is perfect for a LONG bike ride.  I am so sick of being puny.  Whine. Whine.  Whine!!

Pro’s in my life:

  • I have the best husband on the planet for me, who I am madly crazily in love with.
  • I have the most wonderful children — who make me proud all the time with the generosity of their spirits.  Simply breathtaking.
  • I am an AMI of a beautiful grand girly and soon to be of a handsome young man–totally fantastic.
  • I have lost around/over 80 pounds.
  • Much of my health is improved:
    • Blood pressure numbers are falling
    • Blood sugar numbers are falling
  • There are many things that I can do now that I am less weighted — LIKE:
    • Ride my bike for longer distances
    • Jog a little
    • Wear my hooker heals (smiling big when I say that)
    • Fit into plane seats with massively more comfort
    • Sit in chairs without worrying they will collapse
    • Sit in booths without touching the table–this is fabulous every time experienced
    • Wear fun clothes that I like instead of what I can find to fit me
    • Some things that I am not able to mention in polite company
  • Oh, and I do well with my maintenance — that is gonna be on easy ride — when I get there?!?!?!

Con’s in my life:

  • I have been stuck on a plateau for 4 months–actually pushing 5 months if I am honest
  • The chaos/turmoil of my inability to make up my mind which plan to follow.  They all have positives and negatives and I feel frozen as if I am spinning out of control:
    • Do I go back to just shakes even though I am sick of them, but they are a completely no brainer easy–so full formula makes me nuts to think about, but I know I would lose?!?!
    • Do I eat week One Transition and lower my exercise to nothing because I gain when eat like this and workout hard?  Can I managed just to eat small snacks and limited food and limited exercise–or will I eat and play hard?
    • If I go full formula or week One Transition how to do I deal with all the back, neck, and leg pain?  Then there is the over all unhappy mood that I have from the LACK of activity required to lose?  Those conditions are what caused the doc to allow me to up the exercise that stalled my weight loss.
    • Eating Primal/Paleo/Atkins takes massive preparation–but way lowers BP and BS numbers–meds would go way down way fast.
    • Will I lose if I eat this way?  I have NO IDEA–Terrifying.
    • I know I can play and workout hard with Primal/Paleo/Atkin’s style diets, but how will I deal with the muscle weight gain that would possibly push me over the 190 mark again?  This terrifies me also.
  • I feel like I am lost without a compass and no way to make a wise choice, this is an overwhelming feeling.  Smothering even.

I am happy with my weight loss so far, I just want that last bit to be finished and over with, because I want off the meds, and I want to live my life as fully and actively as possible.  The gym workouts keep my back, hips, knees, neck, and ankles in line and flexible.  It lowers the chances for falling injuries.  It also keeps the fibromyalgia (or however you spell that) under control and all my pain levels way-way down. The main reason my back is so out of sorts is my months of limited workouts–the last few weeks has intensified the need for exercise, and today the pain I have to deal with has knocked me out of my morning workout.

Girl friend is about to get dressed and groan and whine like she hates to do in public, but I have to get out of this bedroom and I’ll be darned if I am going to medicate it away just so I can spend more time in bed.  I am sick of laying around.  I am about become a total butt head.  I’m just sayin’ — life is meant to be lived, experienced–savored, NOT layin’ in a bed in my room.

So wish me luck as I go out sportin’ my new britches and jacket.   In my usual form I will leave you with some pics–be kind–I didn’t feel like make up or hair do’s so just deal with me! Hehehe.

My new bike jacket has this cool thumb whole and covers much of my hand so now I will stay warm. 😀

My new jacket is nice and tight unlike my old one that constanly caught the wind like a sail and blew up and out with the wind.

Then since I was going to be revealing all in this outfit I wondered if I should go all the way and throw in the hooker heals .....?

I just couldn't make up my mind which pair went better with my outfit. Hehehe. 😉

Well, being the sensible girl that I am I decided that I should tie on my sneakers and hit the bike sans my hooker heels.  Smilling …..S

13 thoughts on “Workin’ out, back pain, and hooker heels

    • It is amazing how warm it is and then it keeps me dry. I had one that made me sweat like a dog, which caused problems with over heating. This one is Great on so many levels. Thanks … I think they rock too. 🙂 cool thing is Mike Loves them. hehe 😉

    • Thanks Ms Thang! You are one butt kickin’ Crazy Chick yourself. Thanks for all the encouragement, I really appreciate it. It has been so hard for me over the last month to stay connected. Thank you so much for looking out for me. 😀

      I love those too. hehe–I kinda think my Mom even liked them. She kept touching them … I don’t know why but that makes me giggle!

  1. Shonnie –

    What an inspiration you are! Wow! I think you look fantastic! Keep up the good work. I’m a 41 year old who has been overweight most of my adult life. I definitely spiraled out of control after I had children. (who are now 14 and 11) Baby weight is no longer an issue. Ha ha. I started Optifast last Wednesday. I’m glad I stumbled across your blog; I’ve had a hard time finding inspiration stories for those who have done Optifast. I say exercise and if the scale goes up it goes up! Look how awesome Jillian Michaels looks! I don’t care what she weighs because she looks amazing. Same with you, I think you look great. Even if you gain due to muscle weight, it will all eventually work its way off. No one can say exercising isn’t a good thing. I’m just aiming for a certain size clothing. If I’m toned and fit into an 8 or 10, I’m happy. Sure beats what I’m wearing now. Keep up the great work. Look how far you have come. You look amazing!

    • Ohio — thanks for stopping by! Thank you so much for your thoughtful comment, you have no idea how much it means to me. I am glad that you think I look good. I keep telling myself I come a LONG way baby and to work on enjoying this time as much as possible. I think you have the right idea. That is my new direction for the moment. 😀
      Thanks again for stopping by.
      Shonnie

  2. Hi Shonnie…. I must admit, the hooker heals got my attention. Just like you, I’ve plateau as well. My weight has not moved for almost a whole month. WTF. I posted my frustration in my latest post yesterday and hope my new strategy works… we will see in a week or two. I KNOW THAT YOU WILL FIGURE OUT THE BEST WEIGHT LOSS METHOD FOR YOU! Bridgette

Leave a Reply

