Put Your Hooker Heels ON ….


… And let’s go dancin,” said my Mikey with a very cute grin.     😀

Mikey Likes it. 😀

Well, what’s a girl to do, of course I had to oblige him … he is so cute and all.  Hehe!

For those who can't see it ... this is not an anorexic body ... this is a body that is becoming healthier by the day! 😀

After a day spent chatting about my most recent barrage of unhelpful comments,

Still got a bit to work on, but I am quite pleased with how far I have come this year. 😀

Mikey thought I needed to do something fun, so he took me to the Concordia Club.  He knew I would be surrounded by a sea of happy, encouraging faces.  We had a stupendously wonderful time.  They are always calling us young folks there … I have to say that I LIKE that!  Haha!  We are considerably young to some of them, but they are so fun and alive … they are everything I want to be when I grow up.  These senior citizens often put us to shame with all the amazing steps they know and can do so well.  They are motivational.

Honestly, this is the reason that Mike and I love to dance so much.  The first lady to introduce us to ballroom dancing was 70 years old and got around like she was 40.  I asked her what her secret was, and she told me that she danced 3 or 4 times a week, minimum.  I stood there after she left and thought … I want me some of dat!  (I grew up in Louisiana and we say DAT down der!)  She was alert, vibrant with life, and extremely fun to be around.  These people, at the Concordia Club, some of whom are 80 and 90 would put some people in their twenties to shame.  They are ALIVE, happy faced, engaged, and moving.  I think that sounds like a DIVINE way to spend my golden years … that sounds very golden to me!  Just sayin’!

They had not seen me since April … Mike since May when we joined.  They did not recognize me so I spent a good bit of time answering questions about what I have been doing this year with my body.  Thankfully, NO one told me I needed to stop.  They were slightly shocked that I weigh around 160.

*** this morning I weighed in at 157.2 ***  Yeah … totally excited about that, because yesterday I had bounced up to 159.4 … BOO HISS!

They kept remarking on my will power not to partake of the yummy treats they were sharing.  That sparked another lengthy conversation between Mike and myself.  I thought they were so sweet.  I am not as strong as they think.  There is something that I think I have failed to communicate … I have eaten a very restricted healthy diet for most of my FAT years.  Eating healthy with controlled portion sizes is a habit.  I started teaching exercise classes when I was in high school.  My mom started us on a heart healthy diet when my father developed high blood pressure–this is a way of life.  My favorite foods always came straight out of my mother’s garden–VEGGIES!  There is nothing like the veggies from my Mamma’s garden–they are divine.  Healthy eating was a way of life.  I am NOT saying that I never ate bad–like I said before–I would become frustrated with my condition and just give up and eat anything and everything I wanted.  I would often emote that if you had to be FAT you should at least enjoy the food you get to eat!  Madness …

This was Mikey and I at an amazing restaurant in Cali that prided itself on tasty healthy food ... they had not embellished their claims.

What was going on with me, my body, was considerably more complicated than just the  SIMPLE MATH that is supposed to work for everyone (calories in minus calories burned).  My problem was not that simple and a LARGE part of my ANGER stemmed from the fact that ,if I decided I didn’t care about watching what I ate and just had a party with my eating, I GAINED … every time.  So to be a nice big MORBIDLY OBESE woman, I had to eat like I was trying to maintain a fit body.  Eating healthy is OLD HAT.  It is a way of life … the only thing new for me is that what I am doing is working; something actually working … amazing!

Me and Mikey Last Night ... heading out to dance the night away. I think I like my size and my health much better! 😀

Thank You Dr. Ard and the team of folks down at UAB and Pat at the McMinn Clinic for helping me discover the multiple things that were out of order in my body. (Pat and Dr. Ard know each other and that I am working with the other).  Without these people, I would have been stuck inside a morbidly obese  and undiagnosed sleep apnea body that would have brought me to a premature death … mostly likely a painful one.  I am so blessed and happy that I found them.  I would NEVER have gone down to the UAB EatRight Clinic without Donna and Harold Jones … they pulled me along … stood with me through the bumps and keep me motivated and on track now.

Harold’s confusion over my condition, he had seen how I ate and he KNOWS how hard Donna works a body, lead to him to talk with Dr. Ard and share my story.   Harold believing me made me have courage to follow him in to my much healthier life … Thanks again Doc!

Blessings …..S

19 thoughts on “Put Your Hooker Heels ON ….

  1. Amazing story! That’s awesome about the skin tightening up on its own after a while – my boyfriend had told me the same thing (he lost 40 kilos (around 90 pounds) before I met him) and it was hard for me to believe (although of course I could see the evidence!).

    And don’t let people’s comments influence how and what you’re doing – everybody always thinks they have all the answers and they feel a strong need to make their opinions and advice known. What they think does not matter one iota. The only thing that matters is you and finding your way of accomplishing what you set out to do. I’m currently trying to quit smoking and I’m finding that keeping cigarettes around and actually putting them in my mouth and not lighting them, but sort of “pretending” that I’m smoking (that is, doing all smoking things, just with an unlit cigarette) is actually helping. So you can imagine the comments I’ve gotten on that one! And true, I haven’t quit entirely yet, but I’m not back up to my 2 packs a day either (far from it, max I’ve been smoking 5 cigarettes a day) and I know that if I’d banned them from my life the day I’d planned on quitting, I wouldn’t have made it in any way, shape or form and would be back to my hardcore amounts already. So I’m doing what seems to work for me and who cares what everybody else thinks!

    • That is exactly how I quit smoking. I would hold the same one, put to my mouth and drag on an unlit ciggy. I have never gone back. They start to smell really bad after a bit! 😀 I got razed VERY bad by family and friends so I can imagine! 😀

      Thanks for the great encouragment and the reminder … I have done this once before and I can do it again!

      You will get there.

  2. Can I just say one thing? Anyone that can dance in those shoes should be on Dancing with the Stars! I do good to walk across the room without tripping. (and that’s in tennis shoes) :} Bill and I are going to learn to dance some day… I want some of dat! You look radiant.

    • Girl … that is all the Trainer Nazi’s doing! She got me started in Pilates Reformer and that has made all the difference in my ankles and falling! She works on your balance and stuff we start to loose … uhm … when we pass 40. hehe! 😀 You would have so much fun if you tried dancing. Donna got us started dancing …. I really have a lot to thank her for. 😀

    • Watch it. 😉 😉 😉 She’s mine! Besides, I’ll tell Angie on you. 🙂 Seriously, though, thanks for all the encouraging support you have given to my bride. It has meant a lot, and I so much enjoyed hanging with you and your bride at the reunion. Look forward to doing so again.

  3. Wow. I’ve never seen the “before” you before. You and your team (mostly you) have done a great job. Dancing at the Concordia Club sounds amazing. Glad you had some fun in your hooker heels. 🙂

    • Really .. you haven’t seen the before … yep .. yep the name sez it all … I was a very fat girl.

      We did have a blast and thank you so much for your support and encouragement. It is good to have friends–even Blog-o-sphere friends stand beside you.

Leave a Reply

