Happy New Year! … a tad late …


The very happy family making their first bonds.

But who CARES!

I was saying Happy New Year, before today.  For those of you who wondered, yes my grandson has arrived.

I had my best new years present EVER on Thursday, December the 29th at 5:00 AM, Alaska Time, Richard William WilsonJr., born weighing in at 8 pounds 13 ounces, he measured 21 inches long (I may be incorrect on his length) after a very trying delivery for his mother.  As all mothers know, once the baby is in your arms you remember the pain, but it just doesn’t seem to matter.  Babies are so worth the bother; no matter how great the cost.  This little man was quite costly.

Sorry , it has taken me so long to update you.  It is hard for me to let go of my little man when I get the chance to pry him from his fathers arms on the rare moments he is not eating (more about that later). I have been busy being a grammy, or in my case an Ami.  I find myself helping my daughter get used to being a mommy (yes, I know she is actually my Daughter-in-law, but it just doesn’t seem like that in my mind).  Getting used to being a mommy for the first time is quite a challenge.  Young mothers are so afraid of everything they might do wrong.  They need lots of love and encouragement to know they are doing the job well.

My Monkey Man. 😀 He looks so much like his father in this photo. His mother looked absolutely beautiful in this photo, but she didn't think so ... soooooo.... I cut her out with MUCH pain. One day she will see how beautiful this photo is and I will have the uncut version for her. 🙂 Yes, this is a 2 day old new born--he was slightly smaller than his father's 10 pound weigh in, but not by much.

When I am not helping or playing, I am cooking.  Why am I cooking when I have been on a diet for a YEAR??  Because, as everyone knows, new Mommies need time to rest.  I am here for such a short time, I must get them as many meals put away as possible before I fly away.  I don’t think I am even close on my calories.  I know the homemade oatmeal raisin cookies are so off the charts that I don’t want to think about what it has cost me, or how little exercise I am able to get in.  Then there is all the other food, that has pasta and fat and …. We won’t even go into all this.  I have had to call Mike and have him assure me that everything is all right.  It is challenging to cook food that will work for feeding them and be pre-made-freezable that will fall into my diet category.  My goal is to leave them with meals, not me getting my diet needs met.  This trip and time is about other folks.

Me and my little Monkey Man. 🙂

Sadly, it is a bit challenging to NOT eat the food that I am preparing. I pray I don’t blow my last two months of hard work.  😀  If I have, well … I will start over when I get back.  😦  I am working to mderate my eating and my activity.  I can’t say that I am doing the best I could on the eating, but I have doen the best with the exercise.  I am busy all the time, and I take walks when the weather permits and sometimes even when it does not like today; I went for a walk in the rain.  YIKES.  Yesterday beautiful snow, today RAIN.

I am staying busy, because I can hardly bear the thought of flying away, for I am afraid that I have fallen in love with a little Monkey man.  He is so adorable.  He makes the best noises ever (as all mom’s know–baby noises are the best!). We call him a little monkey because his father used to LOVE Curious George books and cartoons.  We have bought many little monkey items.  We all just love them, but mostly we LOVE HIM.

See he is adorable.

What can I say?  I am in love and I taking care of my children, and helping them learn to care for their children. Life’s beautiful cycle.  😀

Blessings … S

 

Yesterday’s Winder Wonderland. Driving snow is much easier to deal with than Driving Rain. hehe 🙂 Still it is very pretty.
14 thoughts on “Happy New Year! … a tad late …

  1. You are such a proud Ami! Little monkey man is just beautiful and I adore that first photo of the new family! That one should be framed for it is so precious!

  2. CONGRATULATIONS, SHONNIE!!!! What a beautiful baby, and such an adorable new family. Hooray for all of you! It’s true that this time is for other people, and good for you for taking it easy on yourself. Being there for your new wee man, and helping make sure his new family gets a new start is just so worth however much momentum you lose toward your goal. If that makes any sense. They are so blessed to have you!

  3. He’s awesome; pure awesomeness from God~ I think this was one of the very greatest blogs ever, and want to congratulate your family on this wonderful blessing. They are also blessed to have you~ I cannot wait until the days my sons are parents, but for now, they are just a little too young lol. I admire the loving care you put into your loved ones, and that’s just how I try to live my life also. God Bless you all~

  4. What a precious little guy!!! So glad your daughter-in-law is doing well.

    Making all of that food for them is such a gift. I think that between all of the work you’re putting in, and the energy it takes to stay warm in Alaska, you’re going to come out of this trip doing just fine. Enjoy all the time you get to spend with your family! 🙂

  5. Grandchildren are the very best Christmas presents. This precious little one is adorable. He is blessed to have his Ami!

Leave a Reply

