What’s for Brunch?


Let me tell you ….

yes ... that is MY plate and I do eat the peels of the orange ... so? I have been craving them. 🙂

I got inspired by Joe’s Primal Scream post yesterday.  He made the “Adjective Defying Stuffed Portabella…” awe, just go check it out.  I had two mushrooms and was gonna hook me and Mikey up with this later today … BUT we were craving some Primal pancakes and didn’t have all the ingredents, so what’s a straving girl to do???????????

Yep the real stuff ... OH MY! Love food! 🙂

I went WILD.  I broke out tha … well … hang on here I will give you the list:

  • 6 eggs (mine are free range)
  • 2 tblspn half and half (you can omit this and use chicken broth–mine was bad)
  • 2 large-ish portabella mushrooms chopped fine (so’s ya get flava in evary byte!)
  • 5 slices of Maverick Ranch Applewood Smoked Bacon (I like it because it doesn’t have all the junk in it) You can go with about 3 slices for less fat–I did more because Mike begged, and he has been on a diet long enough.  Winking here.
  • 1/2 cup yellow/spanish onion chopped fine
  • I celery stalk chopped fine
  • 1 anaheim pepper washed, seeded, and chopped fine
  • 1 serrano pepper washed, seeded, and chopped fine (I love it hot and spicy – this can be omited)
  • 1 clove garlic miniced
  • 1/2 cup broccoli chopped up
  • 1 zucchini julienned or chopped fine
  • 1/3 cup red bell pepper chopped coarse — or how ever much you like
  • 6 or more leaves of Basil
  • a Gob of Cilantro  Chopped with basil
  • 1/2 cup to a cup (depending on your dietary needs) sharp cheddar cheese.  I go light with this because of the fat from the bacon.  I love the flavor though.  😀  I follow Lindsey Lee’s advice and go for the stronger cheeses in smaller amounts to give my dish the big bang for my buck flavor.

Preheat your skillet to a medium to medium high heat before you add: Bacon (chpd pretty fine), oinion, celery, mushrooms, and hot pepper. I sauted this until the bacon was good and done ... besides it makes everything have an amazing flavor! 🙂

After the bacon is browned and the oinion has become transulcent add the broccoli and zucchini and saute until bright green.

Be sure to stir occasionally stirring to coat with remaining fat (don’t be alarmed when you see the bottom of the pan drying up — just means the zucchini is getting what it needs).  Before adding the remaining ingredents beat eggs, cream, and salt, pepper, and other spices to taste together for pouring over the evenly distributed mixure in the saute pan.

Turn the temp down and evenly spread the lovely peppers over the other mixture. I like my red peppers mostly raw in this meal so I don't saute, just sprinkle. Same with my herbs--they act almost like greens. Don't worry they cook some while the Fritatta sets. Then, spread the chopped herbs evenly over the entire mixture; top with cheese.

Pour beaten/whipped eggs over the evenly spread mixture and top with lid (if you have one or a pan if you don't like me). You are waiting for the sides to set while the eggs cook on low.:)

It will look somewhat like this .... notice the edge. 🙂 Now put this lovely concoction into the oven you preheated to 375 to finish up -- oh man and watch out for the smells ... and at my house the cat calls my hubby makes at the oven. 🙂

I like the golden brown look for mine -- you can choose your look -- just make sure it the egg is completely set. Use your spatula to losen the edge of the Fritatta before cutting in to segments and serving! Yeah! 😀

Alas …

Don't hate me .... this was a labor of LOVE! It really doesn't have as many calories as you might think. About 275. So .... don't bust a gasket ... you can control all the ingredents of a Fritatta so make it your own! I like my little creation. 🙂

Thanks Joe for the spring board idea!  🙂

Blessing y’all ….S

17 thoughts on “What’s for Brunch?

    • You know Daisy — it really was fantatic. I do love eating healthy food. I always have. I just have to leave the JUNK stuff alone and I am GREAT! After a year of constantly pushing for a new lifestyle, the “junk” food dosen’t have the hold on me it once had. Thank GOD! Maybe a year of struggling had more benifits that first realized–a real food change. 😀

  1. I don’t hate you for anything, Shonnie, except that I wasn’t hungry before I read this, it is now the middle of the night here and I want to go buy the ingredients to make this and eat it right now, LOL Instead, I’ll just say thanks kindly for sharing the recipe, great way to get the flavour of Quiche without all the fat and calories, looking forward to trying it sometime when I have company over because otherwise, I’d eat it all myself, LOL

    • Thanks Aurora! ahahaha! I am so sorry for making you hungry in the middle of the night. That is the worst time to get the munchies … complicated by having nothing to work with is just heartbreaking.

      The whole flavor of a Quiche without having the added fat of the crust and mucho amounts of cheese is exactly the deal here. I love it.

  2. That looks quite delicious Shonnie. I am not sure mine was an inspiration but thanks, I am flattered. Mine was one of my typical creations. I tend to get distracted halfway through and start ad-recipe-ing.

    • It was, Joe … because I wanted those shrooms. Mine had some bad spots and would need choppin’ so I came up with this instead. 🙂 I do the ad-recipe-ing too. 🙂 This smells good … and that sounds great … so we give it a whirl. 🙂

  3. Oh my. That looks delicious. If I had something in my pantry and refrigerator besides Captain Crunch and milk and I wasn’t so lazy, I’d make this right now.

    • Your comment had me and my hubby rolling. I mentioned to him how many young critters you have and we both sighed exhausted–totally understanding you not feeling anything but relax. I don’t think you qualify as lazy. JUST SAYIN’!

  4. Even with my legendary pickiness, I *love* frittatas! Because you can mix and match whatever veggies you want to throw in there… so glad you’re back!

    • Haha … I am sure you would have changed a FEW of these ingredients! 🙂 I used what ever I have in the kitchen at the time. Still cravin’ the pancakes though. 🙂 Good to be back. 🙂

Leave a Reply

