Beef ‘n Cabbage Stew


Promise it is primally/paleo/atkins friendly YUM

Beef n Cabbage Stew

  • 3 pounds of lean beef
  • 2 medium rutabagas diced about the size of a sugar cube
  • 1 med  yellow onion
  • 1/2 jicama
  • 1 medium cabbage head
  • 8 to 10 baby bellas diced
  • 2 stalks celery diced
  • 1/2 Serrano pepper diced
  • 1/2 Anaheim pepper diced
  • carrots to taste chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 box beef stock/broth
  • 1 box veggie broth (I use organic for both broths or make it myself)
  • Red wine of your choice
  • and a dash/to taste red wine vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons oil — coconut, or olive oil

I used a sirloin roast this time out for my stew meet (my preference is grassfed).  It was super cost effective, and I could control the size of the cubed meat.  I also used the roast because it was larger (4 to 5 pounds), and I wanted to make a double batch to freeze.  You can add potatoes or any other veggies you like.  I am diabetic and need to keep the carbs down so I modified my starches with the rutabagas and jicama — both of which have more fiber and less starch.

I dice the rutabagas and jicama the size of sugar cubes because they cook quicker that way and taste and feel more like potatoes.  Actually, this time I added the jicama later so it kept the water chestnut texture.  I dice the onions, peppers, celery, and mushrooms small (my family doesn’t like big hunks of onion so mine are finely diced).  I like to caramelize these veggies (most of the onions) together in some unflavored coconut oil or on med-low with olive oil.  Just before deglazing the pan–throw in the garlic.  I make sure to get all the flavor from the pan by using some of the veggie broth to deglaze the pan.

I brown the meat if I have the smaller amount.  I throw some of the onions with meat to brown just before toping with beef broth and some water.  Bring to a boil then turn down to simmer for about 4 hours, or if you are leaving for the day put in crock pot with cup of red wine.

When the meat is 3 hours into the simmer chop up the head of cabbage and chop the carrots to your preferred size and throw all veggies in to simmer for the last hour.

Salt and pepper to taste … if you want it spicy add a can of Rotel tomatoes.

enjoy.  😀

3 thoughts on “Beef ‘n Cabbage Stew

  1. Ohhhhhhhhhh I see………… yes, I totally understand – the only thing I will say, is the longer you leave knowing the numbers – the worse it can get, you’ve come so far and you look so amazing – you are totally transformed and the fact that you’ve kept up your exercise routine has just impressed me beyond belief (whilst mine fell by the wayside around 6months ago!!!!) Sending you love and great bigs hugs xxx

  2. that looks lovely Shonnie! I hope you’re feeling better today??? I’m trying to find your recent weigh in but I can’t – can you direct me to it? xxx It’s not helping that I’m using my phone lol xxx

    • There are NONE. I haven’t weighed in for about 2 months now. I am NOT ready to see the scale numbers when I am feeling the yuck in my clothes. So. I am spending a little time trying to work on it first. I just can’t handle the depression of actually know the numbers.

Leave a Reply

