What the Heck are You Doin’?


That was a question to the pic from my previous short post:

Gotta love having pipes sticking out of your face, and clamps on your nose … great stuff!

Well, It is very hard to make a completed post on smart phones — at least it is for me.  The screens are just not big enough for my aging eyes.  Stop looking at my eyes!  Yes, I put mascara on but it doesn’t look like it.

I was having my Resting Metabolism Test done at UAB EatRight Clinic.  I bet you are just dying to know.  Am I normal or aby-normal.  You already KNOW that I am aby-normal already if you have been reading for long.  Gonna share with you the test results NOW.

Here’s the works

As you can see I am slightly above normal in the number of calories I burn.  Now, as to exactly how I am to put this to use for my sports training is this.  I have found a formula–that I can use to help me figure how many calories a day I need to work with that REE number of 1670 calories with my workouts.  I may add in the 501 calories for normal living activity (cleaning house, shopping–you know everyday stuff), but most likely I won’t because that will give me the deficit I need to lose and train at the same time.  I am pretty excited about finding this formula (actually, Mike will calculate the formula–I am not good with word problems).  😀

I feel like having these numbers will give me a better chance at not GUESSING if I ate enough or too much as long as I log my food.  Eating too much or too little will cause weight gain.  In my case I shut down pretty fast if I don’t eat enough.  I have learned from this little bit of info that I was NOT eating enough on training days.  I was putting my body in TOO big a deficit to function properly–which was causing my starvation situation most of the time.

What is the formula???  I will give you the whole breakdown of how to get your base metabolic rate as well.  I still strongly recommend getting it done by professionals like the ones at UAB EatRight.  It helps to have a dietician there to guide you.  I personally think it is worth the money.

BMR estimator for calories needed

  •  Adult Female: 655** + (4.3 x weight in pounds) + (4.7 x height in inches) – (4.7 x age in years) this formula put me 10% less than my test showed I was.  This is why a test is best–then you KNOW.
  • Adult Man: 66** + (6.3 x weight in pounds) + (12.9 x height in inches) – (6.8 x age in years) This is the corrected formula for men–Mike tested it.
  • If you are like me and bad with math — here is a calculator for you to FIND your BMR.
  •  Once you have your BMR, you have to consider your activity level:
    1. sedentary: BMR x 20%,
    2. lightly active: BMR x 30%,
    3. moderately active (exercise most days of the week) BMR x 40%,
    4. very active (intense exercise daily OR for prolonged periods) BMR x 50%,
    5. extra active (hard labor or an athlete in training): BMR x 60%
  • Add this number to your BMR. The result will be the total number of calories you can eat, daily, to maintain your current weight. If you goal is to lose body fat, you will want to consume 500 – 1000 fewer calories (daily). If you want to gain muscle, you will need to eat slightly more calories AND lift weights.
**The female info said 655 and the male said 66 so I am guessing that one number was left off the male since one guy did the calculations and got a ridiculous number using 66.  So here in a bit I will have Mike do calculations to confirm this.  I have been waiting for hours for the correction, and I figure if I wait too long I won’t post again today.  Info updated — just use the automatic calculator!!  Much more likely to be correct!

Ok, Grumps — you now know my weight for the week: 179.  Totally YUCKY number in my opinion.  You even get the dreaded BMI number–which I shall not repeat!

Well, my walk got cut short … think I am gonna go work on dinner so I can go lift. One of these days when I quit traveling I need to replace the gross floor runners in the background. 😀

6 thoughts on “What the Heck are You Doin’?

  1. Pingback: RMR/BMR Calculator for You « Diary of an Angry Fat Woman

Leave a Reply

