The Ride and Beyond


This is the beginning of my ride yesterday.  This is in my hood.  :)

This is the beginning of my ride yesterday. This is in my hood.  🙂

After riding along the beach I headed down 98 towards Sandestin ... then to Donut Hole (Where I ate no donuts), then on 30A's bike path to Grayton Beach, Blue Mountain, Watercolor, and then Seaside.

After riding along the beach I headed down 98 towards Sandestin … then to Donut Hole (Where I ate no donuts), then on 30A’s bike path to Grayton Beach, Blue Mountain, Watercolor, and then Seaside.

Shopping in Seaside.  :D

Shopping in Seaside. 😀

You will now notice, that in my pictorial remembrance of yesterday, there are NO pics of the return … that would be because I was fighting against the wind and couldn’t think about much of anything but GETTING HOME.  The ride was around 35 + miles round trip.  I made several detours and I am not exactly sure how far beyond the 35 miles I went.  I was smiling up to and until I started back –AGAINST traffic on HWY 98– with the sun putting my eyes out and the wind that kicked up to 14 to 16 mph (it had been 6mph) and the wind from the cars going the opposite direction.  I did not want to ride the correct way –with traffic– because I was concerned cars headed into the setting sun would not see me on the side.  I kinda like living.  It was rather shocking to watch cars come directly at you — I gestured to quite a few to move over — they obliged.

Dinner ... sorry no pic of the wine ... it went away too fast.

Dinner … sorry no pic of the wine … it went away too fast.  Mike got part of the grilled/blackened shrimp, it was really good.

The part I didn’t tell anyone was how I called Mike crying for him to come pick me up.  I was starting to yell bad words at people and cars … I was kinda over the whole thing …blood sugars musta dropped big time.  About a mile from our house I had to stop and eat.  The place I had planned to rest and refuel was closed when I came back–which in my defense, had a lot to do with my yelling issues.  The first thing I ordered was a nice glass of wine.  I was in so much pain I just didn’t care about my diet.  So there ya have it.  I had several drinks with my super good grilled shrimp and veggies!  Ok … I will confess … I had a baked potatoe and BUTTER too.  😀

Me this AM and pretty much how I have felt all day.

Me this AM and pretty much how I have felt all day.

I drug myself out of bed.  Made myself put on clothes to go out … it was a major effort.

After the first pic today ... I thought I would work on a better one.  Only so so

After the first pic today … I thought I would work on a better one. Only so so.

It was a beautiful day.  I tried my best to stay out and enjoy it.  I took my handy dandy backpack chair and my books, and walked the few blocks to the beach, but I just couldn’t relax and read.  My brain wouldn’t do it.  I even had my coffee, but that didn’t keep me warm.  So, I trudged back the house.  Managed to make myself make dinner … then I fell back in the bed without getting my work done, and ended up asleep again.

After the second nap ... I decided I needed to try again.  Wanted to get my blood flowing.

After the second nap … I decided I needed to try again. Wanted to get my blood flowing.  I’m sorta smiling.  I guess that is what you call that.   😀

I was smart this time.  I rode into the wind on the front side of the ride.  You have to understand this isn’t all that unusual for the wind to be a pill, just not sure why it hit me so hard yesterday, but it did.  Maybe the wind was worse than I saw on my phone.  Today, just as I got to the end of this path I thought to check my phone again for wind speed.  Yeah … it was 14 mph … again!  So, this meant I wouldn’t ride long before turning back.  I had never planned to ride or workout hard today, just wanted to get my body moving.

Alas, I brought everything home, parked it and CRASHED.

Alas, I brought everything home, parked it and CRASHED. Now, that made me smile. 😀

Took a nice soak bath and retired to the bed by 5 pm.  Hahahaha … that is so sad, but at least I worked on this, right?  I just can’t seem to help it today, I keep falling in the bed.  Work will have to wait until tomorrow.  Good thing I work for myself.

Laters …Shonnie

6 thoughts on “The Ride and Beyond

    • There was no real wind on the way out. And it was in my face then too … so I stopped a lot. Then the cool air front came in. I didn’t look deep enough into the weather before I headed east. That won’t happen again. 😀

Leave a Reply

