Life’s so special ….


Autisim Awareness Month  Puzzle back ground pic is from Autistim Speaks

Autisim Awareness Month Puzzle back ground pic is from Autistim Speaks

This month has been a very emotional month for me.  Collin’s senior pics came in and they were AMAZING.  You can see what I mean up there in the corner of the Autisim Awarness cover I made for my facebook Diary of an Angry Fat Woman.  It has been easier for me to post there … where posts are small … short … photographic and the like.  Hard to take the time to sit and “WRITE”.  My brain isn’t working well … I am lost in old memories and new fun stuff.

Erica ... helped Collin get a date for Prom

Erica … helped Collin get a date for Prom

You can read about how amazing my daughter and her buddy have been here on FaceBook.  I am really proud of the girls for taking care of their little brother while I am out of town.  Makes me so proud.   We all got together for his 18th birthday at Cheesecake Factory on Sunday.  He acutally turned 18 on Saturday.  He picked the place to go eat.  I asked him if he felt any different and, “He said he felt really old now.”  Which made me laugh out loud!  🙂

At the factory.  Just before we dug into food.  We had a GREAT meal.

At the factory. Just before we dug into food. We had a GREAT meal.  Erica changes hair color like most folks change shoes.  😀

Since Collin was “old” he ordered a different meal.  He looked around and watched what other folks had and decided he would eat angel hair pasta with shrimp.  This was him stepping out.  Durning the meal he talked with my son-in-law’s step mom about what kind of cheese cake he always ordered.  At some point in the meal he decided he was a man now … and he was going to order a “different” cheese cake.  You just have to understand that this is HUGE for an ausie to try new foods–and be positive about it.  Heck … usually I have to MAKE him try new things.  This was a BIG day!

Collin with his new cake while we sang happy birthday.  :D

Collin sitting next to his big brother Will while we sang happy birthday.  He almost looks like he is praying that he didn’t make a bad choice with his new cake. 😀

He LOVED his new cake.  He loves the Temple Grandin movie about going through new doors … he sees all of this … the new food, the new cake, and college as a new adventure–a new door.  He stood up just before he cake arrived … clinked his fork to his glass to get our attention … then he made a small speech thanking us for coming to his birthday and making it the best day of the year.  He was so cute.  This day was a LONG time getting here.  Long time.  Lots of pain.  Lots of tears.  Lots of heartbreak.  Lots of stress.  I feel so blessed to be here now.  I am so glad that I pressed in and onward.  Life is good.

Me n my honey ... not my greatest pic ... but like my cutie

Me n my honey … not my greatest pic … but like my cutie. I on the other hand need a new hair do. Just sayin’

Any WAY … this is why writing is hard.  Life … family … lost in space and time with all that’s going on.  😀  Hoping they will take lots of pics for me to see.  😀

 

6 thoughts on “Life’s so special ….

Leave a Reply

