I been a cookin’


I’ve been making all kinds of fresh food juices and smoothies (or chunkies–Mike is gonna get me a better one later) along with some YUMMY squashes.  I made a coconut milk butternut squash soup.  When I opened the can of coconut milk — the top was all solid with the cream — OH MY WORD!  I took a bite of that and I was translated.   I’ve been on the lookout for a good recipe for “Whipped Coconut Cream.”  I think I have found one.  I just had to share.  I’m so generous like that, never selfishly motivated at all.  hehehe  😀

Here’s the recipe I plan to try.  If you wanna read the whole post Check it out here @ The Nourishing Gourmet.com–Lots of great info to be found on this site.  There’s another recipe of hers I plan on trying out.  Paleo Pumpkin Spice Latte …. Doesn’t that sound YUM?  It does to me.  I think I might even make this one into an adult beverage.  YUM!  Let ya know how this one goes.

This is the recipe I used

How to make heavenly coconut milk whipped cream (with an isi dispenser)
Prep time:5 mins
Total time:5 mins
The sweetener you use can vary. People have used stevia, coconut sugar, organic cane sugar, and more options with great success. You could also try whatever type of melted fat you’d like though coconut oil is natural choice. Make sure you read the post to get all of the info on variations, and brands!
Ingredients
  • 1 14 ounce can of Thai Kitchen full fat, unsweetened coconut milk
  • 2 tablespoons coconut oil, gently melted
  • 1 ½ teaspoons of high-quality vanilla extract (gluten-free, if needed)
  • ¼ cup of pure maple syrup (or sweetener of choice)
Instructions
  1. Whisk together well. Chill well, and then put in whipped cream dispenser, carefully following the instructions.
  2. This mixture can be chilled well, and then gently whipped for a soft, creamy “mousse” as well, if you don’t have a whipped cream dispenser.

The next question I had was whether this mixture would work well in making whipped cream when not using a dispenser. I whipped up another batch, and let it chill for 12 hours. We found that it wouldn’t whip up as thickly as normal whipped cream, but it certainly got more fluffy and aerated. It kind of reminded me of a coconut mousse and we ate it with relish. I think it would work really well in a variety of ways (thinking layered desserts, and with berries, etc.), but it wouldn’t make perfect little whipped cream fluffs.

I am looking forward to trying new variations, such as using gelatin with my Aroy-d coconut cream, and seeing if that works. I’ll let you know how my future experiments go!

Meanwhile, if anyone has more information to give on this topic, I’d love to hear from you!

I love this gift so far because it allows my mostly dairy-free children (and me!) to enjoy a childhood favorite of mine, whipped cream! Yum!

How’s my weight going?  I have no idea.  I haven’t weighed.  I know my clothes are fitting a touch more loosely, but not much.  I press on.  I will let ya know more about that later.  I gotta find food before Mike gets here and wants to go paddle boarding … in fact he is calling now.

Bye … Shonnie

7 thoughts on “I been a cookin’

  1. That looks delicious!

    I just discovered this real neat machine–costs about $60 on Amazon–called the YoNanna. It makes smooth, creamy desserts from frozen bananas or sorbets from frozen fruits–just fruits! I love, love, love it! The banana dessert tastes and feels in your mouth enough like soft-serve ice cream to make me feel very happy! And it’s just bananas!

Leave a Reply

