Baked Butternut Squash Fries


I got this idea from a great blog … that I have NO idea how I found called, “Can You Stay For Dinner?”  I think my answer to this question is a BIG FAT YES!!  If this woman asks you to dinner — GO!

My sad version of equally cut fries. Still … I barely saved any for MIKE. You know I love him … cuz I did save him a full serving.

After having these fries–I have had an entire explosion of ideas to jump from this yummy-for-my-tummy experience.  For starters I am going to try making these again with my mandolin at home–where I can get more evenly shaped fries to see if mine look as good as hers did.  If they don’t–I promise we will not even care.  Mike and I will scarf them down like starved sailors. (I have no idea what starved sailors look like I just thought is sounded good).  They taste almost like sweet potato fries.

Photos and words below are all taken directly from “Can You Stay For Dinner?” herself …  all CREDIT is due her for her words, her photos, and this fabulous idea!  Click the links and check her out!!  My words will be in italics from here on out.  😀

Baked Butternut Squash Fries

Here’s how they’re made:

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Peel a large butternut squash, slice it width-wise down the center and then length-wise so that you have 4 equal quarters. Scoop out the fleshy, seedy centers of the two bulbous ends. Cut the squash into even, thin sticks, about 1/3″ thick.

Place the cut squash in a large bowl, add 2 tablespoons canola oil (I used coconut oil), and use your hands to rub the oil on each fry shape. Then, salt them to high heaven.

See how amazing her fries are? Mine will look like this next time when I use my mandolin. 😀

Here’s the key: Bake them on a wire cooling rack set on top of a baking sheet. The air will be able to circulate around all sides of the fries and they’ll develop a much more even crisp. I’ve experimented with both methods of baking the fries: one where the fries laid on the cooling rack (as pictured and directed), and one where the squash laid directly on a cookie sheet. The cooling rack is far superior.

They’ll take about 40  minutes in the oven. Flip them halfway.

Sprinkle with extra salt and serve immediately with ketchup!  I do not eat ketchup.  (Not even paleo kind because I am too lazy to make that.)  

Baked Butternut Squash Fries 

one 2lb butternut squash

2 tablespoons canola oil–I used coconut oil

salt

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Peel and cut the squash into long, thin french fry shapes (roughly 1/3″ thick). In a large bowl, toss the squash with oil, using your hands to evenly coat each one. Lay them on a wire rack set on top of a baking sheet and salt them generously. Bake for about 40 minutes, flipping halfway for even crispness. Serve immediately with extra salt and ketchup.

Nutrition info for 1/4 of the entire recipe:

Calories: 151.9, Fat: 7.2g, Cholesterol: 0mg, Carb: 23.6g, Fiber: 6.6g, Protein: 2.0g

One final word from me …Shonnie …I didn’t make as many as she did because I was not in the mood to cut the other half–so even with my higher fat/fat I only had 62 calories in my serving.  It was amazing.  So … I am super good!  You all should try these, and check out Can You Stay for Dinner‘s blog!

Be blessed, healthy, and happy ….S

7 thoughts on “Baked Butternut Squash Fries

    • Girl … you KNOW it was! What I made for lunch will get you too girl … Butternut, apples, and coconut oil. Needed fresh pineapple to be perfect … but help me lord … do I feel good and high. hahaha

  1. Pingback: Did I do everything Right? « Diary of an Angry Fat Woman

Leave a comment