Dreaming of Pizza ….


I think I have found a solution.  😀

I have been craving pizza.  I mean craving.  So … I have heard about cauliflower pizza crust and I found this recipe so … if anyone knows a better one … SHARE!!  I am planning to spice up the crust a touch with fresh herbs and some sautéed onion and garlic to make the crust DIVINE!  Just sayin’.  Thanks Diabetic Warrior for the great idea.  I’m thinking of using pepperconi and parmesan cheese for the crust, and I am thinking about grass-fed beef and bacon.  Or bacon, peppers, ham, and goat cheese.  I have so many ideas. hahahahahahahahahaha … sorry.  You just have to understand how excited I am.  Yes, the cheese is a touch outside my food goals for now, but I feel this a wonderful compromise.

Without further ado, here is the recipe:

Cauliflower Crust Pizza

BY STEVE COOKSEY, ON MARCH 8TH, 2010

IF you have ever attempted to go “low carb”… you know it can be challenging…to say the least.

For me, a key “ingredient” to my success is having flavorful low carb meals that taste similar to their higher carb “cousins”.

Some examples of some Low Carb options are noodle-less spaghetti (using summer squash), Steve’s World Famous Chili AND Cauliflower Pizza.

BELOW is more information on the Cauliflower Pizza Crust.

It truly is similar to the REAL thing …. once I discovered this recipe, I KNEW I could do… LOW CARB!!!!

Additionally it is very versatile… I eat leftovers with Eggs for breakfast and with Salmon & Mozzarella for lunch/dinner.

Cauliflower Crust Pizza

Click here for  Jamie Saal VanEaton’s blog post of her original recipe … she is a great/witty writer… she occasionally visits my

Screen Shot 2013-01-07 at 7.31.09 PM

Photo credit and recipe credit goes to www.diabetes-warrior.net

Facebook page and drops words of wisdom…. I really like her “style’.  🙂

Below is her basic recipe including my changes.

You Won’t Believe it’s Cauliflower Pizza Crust

1 cauliflower head
3 eggs
2 cups mozzarella cheese
1 cup of Parmesan cheese  (right here is where I (Shonnie) will be adding FLAVA with onions, garlic, and spices of my fancy that day in the Crust). 

3 tsp oregano
4 tsp parsley
3 tsp of cajun spice/red pepper

pizza or alfredo sauce (optional – omit for lower carb)  (I am not a fan of sauce — so will probably add fresh tomatoes on top instead of sauce)
toppings
mozzarella cheese

Preheat oven to 450 degrees Fahrenheit.

Grease cookie sheet with butter  (I’ll be using grass-fed Gehe)

Microwave Cauliflower head in a large bowl for 5 minutes on HIGH… do NOT add water. Once the head has cooked for 5 minutes, allow to cool. Cut into smaller pieces and hand press to remove additional moisture. Place into a blender or food processor and process until uniform size, making sure there are no larger chunks.

In a large bowl, combine cauliflower, egg, Parmesan and mozzarella. Press evenly on the pan (s). Sprinkle evenly with the spices and pepper.

Bake at 450 degrees for 15-20 minutes.

Remove the pan from the oven.

To the crust, add sauce, then toppings and cheese.

Place under a broiler at high heat just until cheese is melted.

** Note: For bread sticks – you can use the same process but place the “mixture” on parchment paper and flip once proper crispiness is achieved.

Enjoy … you all … I will get back to you tomorrow on how much I loved or hated this.  …Shonnie

8 thoughts on “Dreaming of Pizza ….

  1. Pingback: Don’t Faint … She’s Posting again! | Diary of an Angry Fat Woman

    • I am so excited about this one Aurora. I can kinda deal with my bread cravings–without bread. I realize this isn’t really a low calorie meal, but it is a much healthier way for ME to eat pizza, bread creates a craving in me that makes it hard to stop shoving junk carbs down my throat. 😀

      • I find all junk carbs do that to me. Noticed it over Christmas especially. Healthy, fibre filled carbs don’t have that effect. But the junk seemed to just beget more junk. I think it affects our brains in some way that is so bad we don’t even know it until we get out of that fogginess it creates. It doesn’t matter if it’s not really low calorie – it’s about identifying what works and balance. You are always good at that 🙂 You are doing it now 🙂

Leave a Reply

