Weight Cycles


I am kinda tucker after yesterdays 50 mile ride ....

I am kinda tucker after yesterdays 50 mile ride ….

Over the past few weeks, I keep gaining and losing the same six pounds.  I’m kinda tired of the ups and downs and all arounds.  Just sayin’.

I have been working to come up with a plan that will help me inch down the scales while allowing me to eat.  I want to build muscle.  I want to be strong.  I want to be able to play with my grand babies.  I want to have fun with the hubs.  So, I have been experiementing with ways to eat.  I have to have carbs to play hard. adding them back in gets tricky, but I am tired of the gain after each of the these attempts.

Yes, I am glad I am able to get the six pounds off after I put them on, but I would really like to get them off and keep them off.  I probably needed to lose about 10 more pounds before jumping off the diet plan, and that would mean 16 to 20 pounds down from what I am today, but my body wasn’t having any of that!  It is making a new set point.

So what am I going to do?  Well, I have figured out how to shed the pounds–Fat Fasting (I talk about Fat Fasting here read a touch down in the post).  I need to come up with a good plan of action, because I want to build muscle and lose weight.  A challenge?  Yeah, but I’m up to it.   I think I am going to try calorie cycling and fast days to see if I can keep my body moving and guessing.  😀

You wanna know what that is … well I can’t improve on what Tony Schober wrote so I will share that post at the bottom of this page.  😀

Enjoy

Shonnie

P.S.  I will share my pics from yesterdays ride later on today … since I will be driving tomorrow you will get two posts today.

😀

Use Calorie Cycling for Better Weight Loss

Written by Tony Schober 

pastedGraphic.pdf

Using calorie cycling for weight loss can be a more effective way to achieve your fat loss goals than the typical consistent daily calorie deficit.

What is Calorie Cycling?

Calorie cycling is one of many methods for achieving weight loss. Instead of creating a daily 500 calorie deficit, you instead create varying days of calorie deficits mixed in with days of calorie surplus. Doing so has many benefits. Some of these include:

  • Resetting of Hunger Hormones – “Hunger” hormones like leptin and ghrelin are reset after periodic refeeds.
  • Psychological Boost – Being able to eat higher calorie days and feel full can help you mentally during prolonged calorie restriction.
  • Improved Insulin Sensitivity – Lower calorie days can improve insulin sensitivity which can help you reap the anabolic benefits of insulin on the days you increase you carbohydrate and calorie intake.
  • Acceleration of Fat Loss – When all your hormones are optimized, you have the potential to lose more fat.

Look at Your Calorie Intake Over a Week – Not Day

Most of us approach weight loss by cutting a certain amount of calories and then eating that amount every single day. When weight loss stalls, you cut them some more. Calorie cycling for weight loss takes a different approach. Instead of approaching weight loss and calorie intake on a day to day timeline, you instead look at it over a period of time – like a week.

For example, let’s say you need 2,000 calories per day to maintain your current weight. Generally speaking, cutting your calories by 500 per day will result in weight loss of 1 pound over a week (500 * 7 = 3500 calories = 1lb). Eating 1500 calories a day means we end up eating 10,500 calories over the course of a week (1500 * 7 = 10,500). How many different ways can we get in 10,500 calories over the course of a week? There are many possibilities. Some of these might be:

  • 1200, 1200, 2100, 1200, 1200, 1200, 2400
  • 1400, 1400, 1400, 1400, 1400, 1400, 2100
  • 1500, 1200, 1200, 1700, 1200, 1200, 2500

In reality, the possibilities are endless. However, every single one of these will net you the same 10,500 calories over the course of the week. The end result on your weight could be very different from one scenario to the next because your metabolism could be a changing variable. And this is what we are aiming to achieve – a maximized metabolism so that our fat loss continues and doesn’t plateau.

How to Implement Calorie Cycling for Weight Loss

My preferred method for calorie cycling is to have 2 calorie surplus days each week. Calorie intake tends to look something along the lines of – low, low, med, low, low, low, high. When I do it, I also cycle my carbohydrate intake. To give you a better idea, here is what I do:

  • Monday: 1500 calories – Protein, fat, and veggies only
  • Tuesday: 1500 calories – Protein, fat, and veggies only
  • Wednesday: 2700 calories – Protein, fat, veggies, and 300 grams of carbohydrates
  • Thursday: 1500 calories – Protein, fat, and veggies only
  • Friday: 1500 calories – Protein, fat, and veggies only
  • Saturday: 1500 calories – Protein, fat, and veggies only
  • Sunday: 4500 calories – More protein, more fat, and about 300-400 grams of carbohydrates

All of this averages out to 2100 calories per day. It also averages out to about 100 grams of carbohydrates per day and 1 gram per pound of body weight in protein per day. The rest of the calories are filled with healthy fats.

You certainly don’t have to cycle your carbohydrate intake when you do calorie cycling. I just feel like it works better, as I’m able to keep a better hormonal profile that is conducive to fat loss – lower insulin levels, higher growth hormone, higher leptin levels, etc.

Give calorie cycling for weight loss a try and see how it works out for you. You might just find that it fits your lifestyle better, and improves your fat loss too.

8 thoughts on “Weight Cycles

  1. I still go through the same thing doll. I have maintained my weight for more than two years after I lost itexcept every winter I gain about six pounds. I work to lose it and gain it back and lose it and gain it. I think it has to do with the change in weather and actitivity level. It has finally warm enough I can kick up my activity level, I am so happy because it is starting to become emotionally stressful to me. I would actually like to slim down a little more while the weather is warm so I won’t take such issue with that damn six pounds. I do think it is relatively normal.

    • hahaha …. well … I am working the same 5 to 6 pounds once every other week. I get it off and it comes back on … I get it off and it comes back on. If I just keep plugging I gain more. So … I have to find a better plan.

      Glad you are gonna be able to kick up your activity levels now that it is getting warmer. Activty can be a huge help — haha but not in my case. 😀 Thanks for stopping by it has been a while since we chatted. Hope you are doing great! 😀

  2. When you said at the start of this post that you’ve been gaining and losing the same six pounds, I got the distinct image of waves on the beach–rushing in then pulling back. Over and over.

    I know that’s not helpful, because the waves never stop, but it’s nature and going with flow rather than fighting is a lot less exhausting.

      • I’m in the same boat going up and down the same 5 or 6 lbs. I put together a meal plan this weekend to see if I can (again) get rid of them and some of their friends. This made me wonder whether calorie (carb) cycling works. So, keep writing about this.

      • Thanks Chris … I will. I hope that this will be my final shift that works for the long term. I love carbs, but my body doesn’t work with them well … so I am trying to learn how to work them in my diet to aid in my muscle building and energy without damaging my Blood Sugar numbers and high tendancy to gain fat with them.

Leave a Reply

