Avocado Green Smoothie


 

I thought I would share with you all one of my favorite green smoothies.  Something I have always liked to make–but I broke my MIXER.  AND … now Thanks to my youngest daughter shared with my her skinny girl smoothie and another smoothie maker I am back in business!!  YEA!!  Now I can get back at making my power smoothies the RIGHT size!  LARGE! 

If you have never given smoothies a try … you should … you will love it!!

**********One word of advice:  If you have never had green drinks or you are NEW to smoothies you might want to start with a sweeter smoothie.  I am not new.  I am diabetic and rarely eat a lot of sugar so this Green Smoothie works  great for me.*************

Why do I drink not so sweet smoothies or green juice?  I have digestive issues that require that I consume slightly more liquified foods if I want to absorb nutrients well.   For me–it means I am NOT hungry all the time.  So I try to consume at least one shake or juice every day of the week.  If I don’t do that, I blend up meat and make it into a homemade spread–I must say these are MUCH tastier to my family than my green smoothies.  I love them because of how they make me feel.  I get all this from my mommy, she has made this kind of thing since I was young so … I have the taste buds for shakes.  She is also the person who got me started making blended soups and meats–she is a very good cook!

Now, on to the recipe

This is NOT a sweet smoothie unless you add a sweetener or sweetened protein powder. I added parsley and basil to my smoothie this morning–added a sweetened strawberry protein powder for Mikey’s smoothie. You can make this smoothie sweeter by adding more or different sweeter fruits, or a squeeze of honey. I am trying to bring my sugars numbers down and keep them down so I make it like this. 

I like to use unlfavored and unsweetened protien powder because I like to taste my veggies and fruits.

Green Avocado Smoothie

  • 1/2 Avocado
  • 1 Handful or more Spinach fresh
  • 1/4 Frozen Banana
  • 1 Wedge of Lemon w/or without peel (I use peel)
  • 1/2 Small Orange w/or without peel (I use peel)
  • 1/4 Pineapple Frozen
  • 1/2 Small Apple fresh
  • 1 Stalk Celery
  • 1/4 cup Strawberries Frozen
  • 1 Scoop Protein Powder of choice. I use Unsweetened Unflavored whey

The nutrition Info!

Leave a Reply

