Today … ‘n gettin’ back on the horse.


Me ... makin' my cold self get out of the house on on the walk path.  It took a super warm hoodie, gloves, and coffee ... and a touch of friendly motivation.

Me … makin’ my cold self get out of the house on the walk path. It took a super warm hoodie, gloves, and coffee … and a touch of friendly motivation from my FaceBook buddies.  😀

I’m still cold.  Not sure what is up with that, but it has me at this moment snuggled up under my covers with a t-shirt over my workout shirt and I am contemplating putting the super warm hoodie back on … the gloves just won’t cut it if I wanna type.  And since I am trying to be a good blog buddy and get back into posting after being sickly — well, I think I should just brave the cold on my digits.  😀

I recorded my thoughts while I walked because I didn’t want to forget what I was talking to you all about in my head once I got back home and there was no brain power left to remember.  I was gonna be cool and just upload it.  Uh … Well … I don’t think I can share that voice memo.  Why?  I sound like … uhhh … I am not comfortable posting what I sound like.  We can say that it contains a fair amount of heavy breathing … which I was expressing because of exertion … but I just don’t know about sharing that kind of breathing on a blog post where children might read it or my Mamma.   So … I am gonna have ta just write it all out.  😀

I have been talking to myself about walking every morning for at least 30 minutes every morning.  Why?  My blood sugar numbers stay in normal ranges and I have a lot more leeway on how much good carbs I can eat.  And lets be honest … life is boring without carbs.  Be real.  I love Paleo/Primal foods best everyday, but I still love me some bread, chips, ‘n other carby stuff.   Just bein’ honest here.   I love how I feel when I eat Paleo/Primal/Low Carb, but life is just a bit more sunny with a few slices of bread.  😀

In my whiny state I put my "just Do it" Shirt on ... I don't own big girl panties ... and I went for it.  :D

In my whiny state I put my “just Do it” Shirt on under my hoodie … I don’t own big girl panties … and I went for it. Yes, I know the pic is upside down and I can’t fix the words–forgive me.   And NO I don’t wear make up most days to workout–so get over the raw face already.  I do wear make up if I am riding in the sun, because it is a GREAT sunscreen–the only kind I can wear.  😀

Even so … I press forward to good health … in wisdom learned from painful lessons of trying to live like other people.  I found if I walk even a scant 30 minutes my numbers stay lower, even if I have a slip through out the day.  Granted a slip for me consists of: I ate a banana, too many servings of apples, grapes, or what ever fruit.  We are not even talking about bread or chips.  UHHHGGG!  Groan and Whine!  I just have to be very careful how much carby anything I eat if I want healthy blood sugar numbers.  Medications really don’t touch my numbers if I don’t exercise.   So, I am vowing to walk everyday–and this is a bigger challenge now that my treadmill is broken.  I always got on my treadmill even when I wouldn’t go outside (that might explain why it is broken–I killed it).  I can control the temperature inside.  This makes life mo betta if ya know what I mean.  Besides there’s the days when I just don’t wanna get dressed.  I hate bras.  There are days when I feel like doggy poop, still I will hop on the treadmill and huff out my workout regardless of how I feel.  Now, on those days, if I had to wiggle into clothing or the dreaded “BRA” I would probably talk myself out of working out.  I generally will figure out a way to deal with my get dressed issue and go anyway, but I miss the poor treadmill.  😀

Just thought I would share with you something I thought about while walking.  Gotta love this pic of me wearing my, now large and baggy hoodie.  Yep, thats my belly the camera is resting on.  :D

Just thought I would share with you something I thought about while walking. Gotta love this pic of me wearing my, now large and baggy hoodie. Yep, thats my belly the camera is resting on. 😀

I realize this isn’t the confessional you were expecting, but I figured it was best to start back with something I would actually write when I feel wimpy instead of draggin’ out because I need to follow up on my confessional posts.  Heck, I didn’t even finish this post–all I wanted to say–but grand critters showed up and my daughter shot me up with complex b-vitamins and well I could pass out any moment from that last one.  Grand kiddo’s are a fun distraction, but do create a brain block on my concentration.  I will get back on track pretty quick — yeah — I am prophetic and speaking what I want.  😀

Blessings,

Shonnie

15 thoughts on “Today … ‘n gettin’ back on the horse.

  1. Oh Shonnie, You are an inspiration (even if you have bad days)! I love catching up with you, because I know as soon as this baby comes I will have to get back on the horse and ride it out. You are amazing, and you still look amazing. Do anything that makes you happy. Zumba really works for me, even at 28 weeks pregnant I still get out and shake what I have. Miss you xoxo

  2. Go Shonnie, go! I haven’t been working out regularly since I got injured, way back when. My goal is twice a week, just to keep the creaks out, you know? And I hate shopping, so there’s a built-in incentive to maintain my current size. Walking daily is an awesome project. Good for you!

    • Yes, I do know about those creaks. If I don’t move I hurt! I have to work on being happy with walking. It is a big deal when you have been injured and in pain. 😀 I am so with you on the shopping thing. I like it ok, but not to by BIGGER clothes. 😀

  3. Thanks for the motivation! I did optifast too (a year and a half ago). The only thing that works is moving! I’ve learned through trail and error…I’m getting on my dusty treadmill tonight and see if I can kill it!

Leave a comment