Sharing one KICK BUTT Salad


I wanted to share this with all my buddies working to lose weight in Grumpster Coffee Cup Competition

(Click on link [words “Coffee Cup Competition”] for rules or to sign up–it’s not too late July 27th is the deadline.  Come on join in the fun!!)

I realize I should keep my secrets to myself, but I don’t know–I am goofy like that and wanna share good stuff when I find it!  I have a link to their FaceBook page where I grabbed this great recipe from–just in case you wanna see what other healthy food ideas they have.  I know I will be going back.

Yes, this is a sales job for “Wild Planet.”  Why?  Cuz they are great!!  Seriously, I DO NOT like tuna as a rule.  I eat this stuff straight from the can with a splash of lime and a sprinkle of salt.  NO LIE!  It is that good.  You should try them.  No.  They aren’t paying me for this (Hint, Hint Wild Planet if you are reading this I am so totally game to work for you!)  😀

Wild Planet Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Makes about 4 servings

Ingredients

2 cans (5oz each) Wild Planet Wild Albacore Tuna, undrained
1 jar (6oz) marinated artichoke hearts, drained and coarsely chopped
1 can (15.5oz) chick peas, rinsed and drained
1/2 cup chopped red bell pepper
1/4 cup pitted Kalamata or other olives, coarsely chopped
1/2 cup chopped red onion
1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley
1/2 cup shredded carrots
2 Tbsp chopped fresh basil or oregano, or 1 tsp dried
3 Tbsp capers, drained
Juice of one lemon
4 Tbsp olive oil
2 Tbsp red wine vinegar
Sea salt and freshly ground pepper, to taste

Instructions

Place Wild Planet Wild Albacore Tuna and juices from the cans into a large bowl. Flake with a fork to separate tuna into bite size pieces. Add artichoke hearts, chick peas, red bell pepper, olives, red onion, parsley, carrots, basil or oregano, capers and lemon juice to tuna in bowl. Mix gently to combine all ingredients. In a small bowl, whisk together olive oil and vinegar; season with sea salt and pepper. Pour over tuna salad and stir to combine.

I am about to uncover my weight gain. YUCK! Don’t even get smarty with me about it either. I still KICK BUTT!

If you try this lovely salad–write me and let me know how you loved or hated it!  I wanna know.  I am nosey like that and I get LONELY out here when you don’t talk to me.

See … outfitted in my biking gear. There are no secrets here. Everything is revealed.

See Y’all Later!

5 thoughts on “Sharing one KICK BUTT Salad

  1. Pingback: Meat Muffins???? EWWWee « Diary of an Angry Fat Woman

  2. Do you have to order the tuna online or is it available locally. I have joined the coffee cup competition. I posted my weight (YUCK). I need that coffee cup.

Leave a Reply

